UCP’s Dan Williams wins Peace River riding, three other local ridings go Blue

Dan Williams has defeated Debbie Jabbour in the 2019 Alberta Election’s Peace River riding.

The United Conservative Party candidate Williams would triple the amount of votes received by his NDP opponent Debbie Jabbour, who had been seeking re-election after the NDP took the riding back in 2015.

Finishing with the third highest amount of votes would be Dakota House of the Alberta Party, followed by Connie Russell of the Freedom Conservative Party and Alberta Liberal candidate Remi Tardif.

Williams wouldn’t be the only UCP candidate to seize victory in his riding, as three other local ridings would go blue.

In Lesser Slave Lake, United Conservative candidate Pat Rehn would edge former MLA Danielle Larivee, in what would be a major loss for the New Democrats. Larivee had previously held the position of NDP cabinet minister prior to Tuesday’s election.

Rehn would pull off the victory with 4,144 votes over 3,036 for Larivee. The victory for the UCP in Lesser Slave Lake will effectively put several new projects up in the air, including the new Dialysis Clinic which was planned to be built by the Alberta NDP government.

The UCP’s Travis Toews took the Grande Prairie-Wapiti riding with relative ease yesterday, earning 15,999 registered votes compared to second place Shannon Dunfield who earned 3,191 votes.

Following Dunfield would be Jason Jones of the Alberta Party with 1,995 votes, and Independent Terry Dueck would round out the field earning 208 votes.

The Alberta NDP would be dealt another crucial blow in the loss in Central Peace-Notley riding, as Todd Loewen of the UCP would earn a victory over another former NDP cabinet minister in Marg McCuaig-Boyd.

McCuaig-Boyd would earn 2,672 votes in the riding compared to 10,293 for Loewen, with Travis McKim of the Alberta Party receiving the third most amount of votes with 611 followed by 100 for Alberta Liberal candidate Wayne F. Meyer.

It would be a difficult election for both the Alberta Party and Liberal Party, as both Stephen Mandel and David Khan would fail to win in their home ridings.

The new Alberta Premier is Jason Kenney of the United Conservative Party, unseating Alberta NDP leader Rachel Notley and returning the province to a conservative majority for the first time since 2015.

Notley won her home riding in a landslide and will continue on as opposition leader, while two of her cabinet ministers would survive Tuesday’s blue wave in Health minister Sarah Hoffman and Environment Minister Shannon Phillips.

*All numbers are subject to change as votes continue to be registered from advanced polling.