Former Calgary Flame Headlines Possible 2020 Hockey Hall of Fame Class

Last night the Hockey Hall of Fame inducted the 2019 class which included Guy Carbonneau, Václav Nedomanský, Sergei Zubov and arguably the greatest woman to lace up the skates for Canada Hayley Wickenheiser. As soon as they went into the hall many turned their attention to who could be in the Class of 2020, and the biggest name on that list of first year eligible players is former Flames captain Jarome Iginla.

Iginla played in 1554 games scoring 625 goals and a point total of 1300 not to mention 1040 penalty minutes. Also on his resume is Olympic Gold medals (2002, 2010), World Championship (1997),  Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy (2002, 2004), Art Ross Trophy (2002), Lester B. Pearson Award (2002), King Clancy Memorial Trophy (2004), NHL Foundation Player Award (2004), and Mark Messier Leadership Award (2009), the only thing missing is a Stanley Cup.

Notable players entering their first year of eligibility are Marian Hossa and Shane Doan. Others who are hoping for a call to the hall are Patrik Elias (2nd year), Sergei Gonchar (3rd Year), Daniel Alfredsson (4th year), Rod Brind’Amour (8th year), Jeremy Roenick (9th year) and another former Flame Theo Fleury (12th year) alongside many other notables.

We are a long way away from the Class of 2020 being named but it’s always fun to think ahead to who will get the a long awaited call to the hall.